Communication Studies

Communication Studies is one of the top five majors at a four-year university. Studying how humans construct and share meaning allows individuals to become communicators in different forms like public speaking, debate, and interpersonal communication.

Contact Us 

Cliff Ruth
Department Chair, Communication Studies
(951) 222-8368
clifford.ruth@rcc.edu
Quad 5

Communication Studies
ADT
Major Units
18-19
Typical Time to Completion
2 years
Program Map
Media and Languages
AA
Major Units
see catalog
Typical Time to Completion
2 years
Program Requirements

If you are interested in Language and Humanities, you can explore other instructional pathways in Language and Humanities.

Need help? The Center for Communication Excellence (CCE) is one of the many resources offered at RCC. Here, student tutors are willing to help you improve your communication skills for free.

Meet our Faculty

Juan Ahumada
Juan Ahumada M.A.
Loves video games, all-you-can-eat buffets, and fishing.

Associate Professor
Juan.Ahumada@rcc.edu

Angie Burkhart
Angie Burkhart
Loves true crime documentaries, Italian food, and dancing.
Assistant Professor
Angie.Burkart@rcc.edu

Joan(ie) Gibbons-Anderson
Joan(ie) Gibbons-Anderson Ph.D.
Loves See's Bordeaux chocolates, sunsets, and dogs.
Professor
Joan.Gibbons-Anderson@rcc.edu

Cliff Ruth M.A
Cliff Ruth M.A.
Loves his family, vacations, and
sports. 
Profesor & Department Chair
Clifford.Ruth@rcc.edu

Micherri Wiggs
Micherri Wiggs M.A.
Loves Lake Mead, live music, and traveling.
Professor
Micherri.Wiggs@rcc.edu

Lucretia Wright
Lucretia Wright M.A.
Loves karaoke, Boba Tea, and empowering her students.
Associate Professor
Lucretia.Wright@rcc.edu